The institutions and focus

The programme is a collaboration between the Universities of Glasgow, Louvain and Tilburg bringing together expertise from all three institutions in a programme that centres on the broad tradition of critical philosophy. In a globalised world marked by a certain exhaustion of transformative programmes and utopian energies the programme places a renewed emphasis on the notions of discourse, critique and argumentation. We invite PhD proposals to explore these foundational notions as well as to apply them to concrete issues and problématiques, in connection with a variety of disciplinary fields and across all areas of legal doctrine.


We particularly welcome candidates interested in exploring the fundamental normative questions that shape legal practice and policy-making at the national and trans-national levels.

The doctoral programme

The 3-year programme combines a training programme with close and personalised PhD supervision. You will be part of a dynamic international research community. One of the attractive features of the programme is the regular exchange between the PhD students and staff across the participating universities through co-supervision, annual doctoral colloquia and joint seminar series.

Each student is allocated to one of the three participating universities and receives a co-supervisor from one of the other two universities.

Years 1 and 2
• Joint seminar on traditions of legal theory
• Joint seminar on issues of globalisation
• Joint doctoral colloquium
• Reading group in the university of enrollment
• Dissertation
Successful candidates will be allowed to proceed to full doctoral status after year 1.

Year 3
• Joint doctoral colloquium
• Reading group in the university of enrollment
• Dissertation

Participating Institutions

Learn more about the universities supporting this programme.


European Graduate Network in Legal Theory

Learn more about the European Graduate Network in Legal Theory.

Graduate Network


Learn more about the directors, faculty staff and students.


Research Students